PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

Handheld Turner for my situation?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2018 | 11:43 AM
Staging Lane

Default Handheld Turner for my situation?

So I'm a huge noob to tuning I'm not going to lie, but I've been reading up lately on all the handheld tuners. I have just finished a 5.3 swap into a 1981 firebird, and it has a dorman intake, a different cam and full exhaust, I talked to a local shop about a tune and they told me close to $1000. I expected somewhere around that price, but what if next year I switch the head, which I plan on doing eventually, is it going to cost another $1000? Is there a handheld I could get to make the car more driveable and run a little better until I get all get these bigger upgrades done. Fyi, the cars driveability is a little rough right now, it doesn't like to stop, lol, and almost dies when in gear while stopped. I appreciate any help, thanks.
Old 09-02-2018 | 04:10 PM
TECH Senior Member
10 Year Member

might as well bite the bullet and buy into a tuning suite now if you're gonna be rolling more changes into your combo later
Old 09-02-2018 | 11:07 PM
Staging Lane

So let's say I stay with this setup for a couple years and then change the heads and maybe port or change the intake later, what would you recommend I do. Right now it's no fun to drive, lol.
Old 09-03-2018 | 07:08 AM
TECH Fanatic
5 Year Member

Get a professional tune now that can become the basis of your tune later when you change things. Just be advised, tuning has a steep learning curve and carries some risk of destroying your motor if you run your fuel-air mixtures too lean and too hot - can melt a piston top.

Rick
Old 09-03-2018 | 09:55 AM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by B52bombardier1