Sponsored by:

What would you do next? Chronic Lean Codes

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2018, 07:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you do next? Chronic Lean Codes

Hi All,
I have a 2013 LY5 swapped into a classic Land Rover and I've been fighting lean codes on both banks for many months. The harness and ECM are from Speartech and the tune is a stock 2013 tune. My LTFT is steady at 24% on both sides. The STFT jumps up with the RPMs but then slowly starts to drop as does the LTFT even though the RPMs stay high. When it goes back to idle the LTFT rises back to 24% and the STFT goes to zero. I've looked for intake leaks but have found none. I've done a smoke test, propane test, pressurized soapy water test, and stethoscope test. The intake holds static pressure and vacuum for a good while. I've disconnected and plugged the various intake ports such as PCV, EVAP and brake booster with no effect on the issue. I'm pretty confident there is no intake leak. The MAF is a new delphi unit. The exhaust system is tight with new gaskets and no noticeable leaks. I have Hooker block hugger shorty headers and the stock O2 sensors. The O2 sensors read .1 to .8 V and seem to be functioning correctly. I tested them with propane and they jump to .9. The engine runs and drives fine with no hesitation or issues. So what in the world is causing the Lean Codes?? Could it be the tune needs to be adjusted? What would be the next thing you would do to try to solve this?
Thanks for any inputs,
Jeff
Old 11-17-2018, 07:32 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 157 Likes on 128 Posts

leaking at the map sensor? how are your map readings

Last edited by Floorman279; 11-17-2018 at 07:33 PM. Reason: .......
Old 11-17-2018, 07:33 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,022 Likes on 2,353 Posts

Looks like you need a good tune.
Old 11-17-2018, 09:39 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts