PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

BCM FRIED! CAN'T FIND NEW BCM for 1999 camaro ANYWHERE?! PLZ HELP!?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2018, 05:22 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BCM FRIED! CAN'T FIND NEW BCM for 1999 camaro ANYWHERE?! PLZ HELP!?

1999 camaro z28 - My bcm has issues and in the process of trying to re-solder it the board popcorned on me from high moisture content and lifted a circuit trace bad.. (I should have known well enough to bake it in the oven on low before soldering to remove the moisture, I do this for a living, had I only known how hard replacing it would be ahead of time...)

Now I know every BCM matches itself to the VIN of the car and the VATS resistor of the key on first ignition (e.g new from factory BCM's program themselves to the key resistor and VIN on first start), and I'm told they can NOT BE REPROGRAMMED even by a dealer or a tech 2? So essentially I can't buy a used BCM and just reprogram it with a tech 2?

GMpartsdirect.com no longer carries the BCM for my car ac delco part number 9353691 and I can't find a new or remanufactured one ANYWHERE? I have literally looked EVERYWHERE -- there isn't even a single one on ebay?

I do not want to bypass my VATS (I'm trying to fix up the car to make everything work like new) so what are my options here? The used BCM's on ebay DO NOT come with keys to figure out the VATS resistor values and even if they did the used bcm would still have the VIN of the old car it was in wouldn't it?

Am I correct that these BCM's program themselves to the VIN? or is it just the VATS key resistor value only? and does the BCM hold vehicle mileage information? I read the mileage is stored in BOTH the pcm and bcm?

If I buy a used BCM from ebay, and I want my ASR/traction control to work, does it have to have come from a donor car with an automatic transmission and ASR/TCS? What exactly has to match?