Sponsored by:

HP Tuners question

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 08:30 PM
JDP
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HP Tuners question

ok, heres my situation. my buddy want to get hp tuners, and i hve the laptop. i was wondering if i can use the tuner for both my car and his or do we have to buy seperate programs because i have an LS1 and hes got an L67 (s/c 3.8). or can we use both cars on the same program for both vehicles. Im kinda new to this so help is apreiated, thanks.
Old 03-16-2006, 09:10 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the same cable works with both cars. I tune my 04 GTP w/the same cable I tune my 00 LS1

Once Ford and Dodge support is released, same cable will work with Ford and Dodge too
Old 03-16-2006, 09:28 PM
JDP
TECH Fanatic

so everything is the same, dont i have to give them both vin numbers so i can use it on those two cars?
Old 03-16-2006, 09:45 PM
TECH Senior Member

With the new pricing structure you buy the cable and then choose how you want to license it (no need to select vehicles up front anymore)

You can either get an unlimited license (4 credits for GTP, 6 for LS1) or you can get VIN locked licenses (2 credits each, so you'd use 4 credits, and have 4 credits to do with as you please for custom OS improvements or other vehicles, etc...)

The first time you connect to the car w/athe editor is when it will ask you how you want to do the licensing ... so don't need to give HPT anything, it's all built into the software
Old 03-16-2006, 09:48 PM
JDP
TECH Fanatic

i see, so i would be good just ordering the package from hpt and just hooking it up to our 2 cars and setting those vins for the credits
Old 03-16-2006, 09:49 PM
TECH Senior Member

yup, so long as both cars are listed on the order page you'll be set (anything listed on the order page are vehicles they support)
Old 03-16-2006, 10:01 PM
JDP
TECH Fanatic