Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Advice for buying a used Trans Am/Formula

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2009 | 09:41 AM
Teching In

Default Need advice for buying a used Trans Am/Formula

I am looking to pick up a trans am/formula, but I am far from a car expert. I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice on what to look for in terms of issues with the trans ams/firebirds. In particular, most of the cars I am seeing have between 70K and 100K miles (most around 80k)... this seems like a high mileage and I am afraid that I will be in the shop every other day getting something fixed. I am mostly looking at 2001/2002 birds, but I have been looking at some 99/00s.

Any advice you all can give me would be much appreciated. If there is a good forum to look at, pointers there would be great.

Thanks in advance,

Paul

Last edited by pppoole; 02-07-2009 at 12:03 PM. Reason: title was inadvertently misleading, looked like i was giving advice, i meant to request for advice
Old 02-07-2009 | 01:23 PM
TECH Fanatic

I just recently bought my 2000 WS.6 Trans Am M6 with 75,000miles a few months ago so I just went through this. I test drove a lot of Trans ams so here's all the info I have.
Make sure you check the brakes out, see how thick the pads are, and when you drive it, put the brakes on lightly, medium, and hard. be aware of any pulsing in the pedal, or if the steering wheel vibrates. My car had some wheel vibration and pedal pulse when I bought it, I thought it would be cheap to just get the rotors resurfaced because they were obviously just a little warped as rotors do get. But my rotors ended up having "hot spots" so the front ones had to be replaced and the rears resurfaced, and because the shop was already there, I just decided to get pads as well. This added up to a $450 bill.