Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

LT1 vs. the LS1 with auto tranny

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2004, 08:01 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 vs. the LS1 with auto tranny

I want to start out by saying thanks for the advice you all gave me in my earlier thread; I am a Firebird newbie however plan to become more knowledgable about these cars.

OK, my plan is this: To spend around $10,000 for a trans am/formula with the WS6 package. While I am not totally decided yet, I believe i will go with the automatic transmission(sorry, but I just never got comfy with sticks for all of the commuter traffic I deal with).

I don't plan on racing this car on a strip, but I want to add a few bolt-on mods(exhaust, headers)

I know I won't get the best performance with the auto over the 6-speed, but in city driving, and 0-30 and 0-60 speeds, or if I just want to smoke that rice burning Civic next to me on the highway doing 70MPH-90MPH, which engine block is faster and has more neck-snapping punch, the LT1 or the LS1? I'm talking when I WOT on the car, which engine with the auto tranny will I be the most happy with overall?

On a less-important note, what basic mods other than exhaust and headers can I do to these vehicles that will be relatively inexpensive to get better acceleration?

Oh, one last thing. I have been looking at the '98 models, I actually do like the looks of the new gen. better, however are there any of those "first year" bugs in the engine or other parts of the vehicle to be worried about, would I be better of with a '99?

Jeez, I know I must sound like a total newb with this post, but any help will be appreciated.
Old 11-22-2004, 09:06 PM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

LS1 will have more power, stick with that if your just gonna do basic mods.
Old 11-22-2004, 09:08 PM
Teching In