Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

800whp turbo and cheap, will this work?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2006, 06:18 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 800whp turbo and cheap, will this work?

I want to make around 800hp with a turboed smallblock for as cheap as possible.
I'm assuming I will need all-new internals. My small block source will be a lightly used truck engine off car-part.com unless you know of a better source for cheap smallblocks. I'm new to this whole small block thing, So this is just an outline to give me an idea of how much this project will cost.
  • I hope to get one with vortec heads cuz I heard they were a lot better.
  • Can someone help me figure out how to combine different rods/pistons/cranks to get a 383 but with lower compression?(so it will proly be a little bigger than 383).
    I'm thinking scat/eagle cast peices for rods/crank/pistons
  • I'm also having trouble figuring out cam choices. I want a roller tappet but I think they're too expensive.
    How much power would I lose by getting a flat tappet?
    Should I get hydrualic lifters? I really don't see a point of hydraulic unless you are bothered by the noise. Maybe i'm missing something.
  • with a goal of 800whp on a turboed small block with cast internals, what should I shoot for as far as a power band?
    i'm thinking a 6000-6500 rpm redline
  • how much boost should I run?
    A rough guestimate would put 800whp at around 15psi of boost but I would like to run 20 if the small block can take it.
  • what is the weak point with cast internals?
    I would like to keep this budget, but I would be willing to invest in forged pistons or rods if opinions generally deem them nesecary. I haven't included them because I know of many import cars that run 20psi just fine on cast peices.
I know I need new springs/rocker arms/pushrods/piston pins ect. but I don't think any questions need to be asked about those.