Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Battery relocation ground wire??

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2007, 08:08 AM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Battery relocation ground wire??

I did a battery relocation a few months ago and it seems to work well for me. I was talking to one of the local speed shops and he told me that I really need to run a ground wire from the trunk back to the front and ground it to the engine. He said that the steel body is not enough of a ground. He said that if the battery is not grounded enough that it will cause several issues.

I am wondering now if this is an issue for me. Do we really need to run a ground all the way to the front of the car??
Old 10-10-2007, 09:06 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Wtf?!

dude, that guy is full of sh*t!! i'm a mobile install tech and we've never had any problems with grounding any of the amps or even batteries to the chassis. it's all the same GROUND!!! you aren't gonna have ANY issues.
Old 10-10-2007, 12:03 PM
TECH Junkie

Originally Posted by 95TAJade
dude, that guy is full of sh*t!! i'm a mobile install tech and we've never had any problems with grounding any of the amps or even batteries to the chassis. it's all the same GROUND!!! you aren't gonna have ANY issues.
Agreed! find a secure place to attach the ground to and you will be fine!
Old 10-12-2007, 12:12 PM
TECH Resident

I agree with the other two posts. That guy at that local shop is a moron. Honestly, if it was me, I would find a new shop to go to.
Old 10-16-2007, 08:35 AM
10 Second Club

I agree with you on this.....................I don't know his reasoning, but I do know he is very good at what he does. He has a 1st place car running drag radial in NMRA, 2nd place Nostalgia class(NMCA) and a 1st place winner in mean street(NMCA). He can make a car pull 1.30 60's and only pull the tires a few inches off the ground.