Street Racing & Kill Stories Basic Technical Questions & Advice

First race kill story/ newer M3 question...

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2012, 01:42 PM
Launching!

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

Default First race kill story/ newer M3 question...

Hey everyone!

Well I am still kind of new to the LS1Tech community (joined a couple months ago) and this is actually my first time starting a new thread. Not sure what section to post in because it's a kill story and kind of a hypothetical race story... So sorry if I post this in the wrong section..

So I finally bought my dream car, 2002 Camaro SS, since I was 16 and have been modding it over the past year. (mods in sig) I recently had it tuned at Straightline Performance and left with making 332 rwhp and 354 rwtq out of an A4. I was really happy with the number, especially coming from my previous car, which was a '95 3.4L Camaro. Damn thing couldn't get out of its own way! (first car)

Anyways, so I was driving to the gym last weekend and on the way there I found myself lining up at a light with a 2010 Mustang GT. (20 yr old kid??) I chatted with the kid at the light and decided to do a quick run. He was actually pretty cool, def not your "typical" mustang owner. The light turned green and we both punched it. His nose was in my peripheral up to about 30mph and then he was gone. hahah I let off at about 85ish and he was ~ 2-3 car lengths back! I know the GT's aren't really any comp (GT only CAI and catback) but this was my first race since the mods. It put a big smile on my face!