Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

How important is panhard bar?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2010, 06:55 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How important is panhard bar?

I am basically a total newb when it comes to suspension and just wondering how important it is to upgrade panhard bar to a better one.

I will be installing SFC and STB soon, and was wondering what is next in terms of beefing up my suspension short of a koni sa shocks and whatever springs i choose in the future.

Thanks!

Sid.
Old 08-17-2010, 07:17 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Lower control arms and Panhard bar will make a noticable difference in cornering. Your car will feel much less like the axle wants to come out from under it, and traction will improve. Adjustable ones are a good choice if you plan to lower in the future.
Old 08-17-2010, 07:43 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by Arc00TA
Lower control arms and Panhard bar will make a noticable difference in cornering. Your car will feel much less like the axle wants to come out from under it, and traction will improve. Adjustable ones are a good choice if you plan to lower in the future.
Thanks!

Adjustable panhard bar or adjustable lower control arm (if there is such thing) or both?

Old 08-17-2010, 09:01 PM
TECH Fanatic

They are available in many styles, check out BMR or UMI, they are on the right side over there in the sponsors list.
Old 08-17-2010, 09:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by tmdz28
Thanks!

Adjustable panhard bar or adjustable lower control arm (if there is such thing) or both?

Adjustable panhard rod is what most people go with, since it allows the rear axle to be centered up side to side - not a big deal at stock height, but the rear needs re-centered after a drop. Non-adjustable panhard rods seem sort of pointless to me, honestly.