Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

to install aftermarket k-member or not

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2014, 01:07 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default to install aftermarket k-member or not

I want more room to work on this thing, the weight savings are just a bonus. Its not a race car (in my mind), but merely a car that sees a few thousand km a year of sunshine driving and night time beatings. Plan is a 400+ci motor with forced induction, so I'd like to do this at the same time as the motor install (along with control arms). I am a fan of the MWC products, but I don't know how theres would handle street driving?

Is anyone running one of these on a street car?

I'd really like to hear from Eric, and the guys at UMI and BMR. Would MWC make a "road race" version with extra bracing? I'm no expert, so I'm looking for experience, not "i know a guy" type of stories.
Old 05-25-2014, 01:14 PM
Super Hulk Smash

Received 140 Likes on 117 Posts

The UMI road race k-member looks really good for a street car. BMR has one designed to fit turbos.

I've stayed away from the K members since I drive my car on the street, but the UMI road race one has me thinking about doing it.
Old 05-25-2014, 02:13 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 81 Likes on 72 Posts

Do it, they are so nice. I'm running a PA Racing Chromoly with no issues......OOO I know I'm gonna die soon!!! Everyone says don't run chromoly on the street.....it's fine.
Old 05-25-2014, 02:20 PM
10 Second Club

Received 48 Likes on 42 Posts

MWC chromoly and street drive it a bit. Go with a mild steel for street. Even though chromoly would be fine
Old 05-25-2014, 11:42 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I would stay away from anything that doesn't positively
guarantee street duty service for a good long while.
Good luck finding any. Marketing happy talk does not
count.

If I had it to do over I'd attack a stock K with the plasma
cutter. Much more robust.