Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Odd Steering Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2017, 02:25 PM
TECH Addict

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Odd Steering Problem

I just bought a used 98 Camaro a few months back as a daily driver run around type car. This car does something I've never experienced before and I've owned about 10 newer fbodies. The steering rocks back and forth on slightly bumpy roads, you can feel it in your hands and if you let go of the wheel you can see it rock back and forth with the road??????

Now I'm a experienced Mechanic-Engineer and it has me stumped which direction to go with this. The shocks are kind of weak but I wouldn't say they were worn out. Tires are road force balanced and dead smooth on a smooth road. But even a smooth road with slight ripples in it will cause this crazy rocking steering wheel.

Its almost like one frt wheel is ahead of the other one contacting the road and as you drive one side rolls over a bump in the road then the other one does. I checked the distant between the wheels side to side and there is about 1/2 inch difference wheel to wheel side to side. Its easy for me to change that using the caster adjustment but I really don't think it will help anything.

I drove my TA today on the same roads and while you can feel the roads imperfections in the steering wheel it doesn't ever do the rocking thing. The TA wheel to wheel side to side has about 1/4inch difference.

Please don't post up the obvious or stupid crap. If you have some real experience with something like this please post up. Thanks
Old 08-31-2017, 03:31 PM
TECH Addict