Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Car Drifting, Less Grip ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2005, 09:51 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Car Drifting, Less Grip ?

I have a question. I recently had my alignment redone to some autox/ street specs

Camber (°) Caster (°) Toe (°)
-0.5 to -1.0 +4.0 to +5.0 0.0

Well it feels like the car turns faster, but it seems it has less grip. Now it turns faster but it feels like the car drifts more in sharp turns. It feels like I used to be able to take sharper turns without loosing traction, The tires arent completely bald but they have bout 10k miles on them. Now my question, is this normal? Now that I have a different setup, Do I need better tires up front ? This morning I had the chance to run an empty parking lot and I took a sharp turn and the car just turned but drifted at the same time. By the way I'm talkin bout turning around 35-40mph. I'm new to suspension setups so any comments would help. Thanx
Old 11-03-2005, 10:57 AM
Cal
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

By drifting do you mean the tail hangs out? If so, that's because with the new alignment the front has more grip than the rear. If you are in a four wheel drift, it may be a tire issue; rubber too cold or not the right air pressure. Also, some parking lots have a very slick sealed surface.
Old 11-03-2005, 11:00 AM
TECH Enthusiast

also from your mods list it looks like you are on stock shocks, thats a big problem, those springs need much better shocks, the stockers were poor matches to the stock springs, now they are way outclassed
Old 11-03-2005, 11:12 AM
TECH Fanatic

yea when it drifts its a four wheel drift, its a good feeling cuz its a controlled drift but what happened to my traction? Ive known for a while i need shocks, but gosh it hadnt been a problem yet. Oh and my tire pressure is 30psi all around. On Kumho Supras
Old 11-03-2005, 12:05 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts