Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

advance auto parts rotors vs brembo blanks

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2006, 04:57 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default advance auto parts rotors vs brembo blanks

is it worth paying the extra for brembo blanks as compard to whatever brands i can pick up at advance auto or autozone

ive read all the threads on drilled/slotted and know not to waste money on them so im just trying to decide between brembo blanks (also help me out with the cheapest place to get them) vs whatever the parts store up the street from me has in stock
Old 11-30-2006, 05:01 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 45 Likes on 26 Posts

slotted is worth it, drilled is not
Old 11-30-2006, 06:45 PM
TECH Junkie

Both brembo blanks and autozone duralast rotors are good factory replacement parts (although I have had a set of brembo's that were defective right out of the box). I have no experience with advance auto parts rotors.
Old 11-30-2006, 08:52 PM
Launching!

The advance Rotors are good if you get the good ones. If you go for the cheapy version that they offer, then don't expect much. Go with blanks. Anything slotted or drilled will decrease your overall braking performance.
Old 12-01-2006, 07:40 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Divergent Lightning
The advance Rotors are good if you get the good ones. If you go for the cheapy version that they offer, then don't expect much. Go with blanks. Anything slotted or drilled will decrease your overall braking performance.
please explain how drilled or slotted decrease your performance??? companies like baer and brembo drill and slot their rotors for?????
Old 12-01-2006, 03:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

^ You should read the stickies.

Drilling and slotting rotors takes away valuable mass(which soaks up heat) and surface area. There are no benefits for slots or holes on a street car.
Old 12-01-2006, 03:49 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by 99zman