Why did I pick engineering as my major?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 11:12 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

Default Why did I pick engineering as my major?

I know it is probably a question most all engineering students ask themselves. Every semester in school is hard, but this one tops it all. I am struggling very much with statics/dynamics and electricity and magnetism. It seems like no matter how much time I spend on the stuff, more keeps piling up and I keep falling behind. This degree is STRESSFUL. It seems likes I am always studying while everyone else is having a social life. Working 25 hours a week probably doesn't help me either. Okay, enough ranting, I know it will be worth it when I finish. Gotta get back to studying.
Old 09-24-2009, 11:21 PM
That's what she said...

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It is very much worth it. I remember setting in the library for 12 hours straight studying for a test only to make a damn C on it (and I graduated with a 3.79 MCL lol). I remember getting no sleep at night, taking a test at 8am, crashing after the test, and not waking up until the next day. It ******* blows.

I'm guessing you are around 2nd year with those classes? When I got into the "major specific" classes, I found it to be much easier. You really start to "learn how to learn" the farther you go. The past 3 semesters or so, I didn't study NEARLY as much, and I made better grades. If you understand the material in class, the test stuff comes naturally. Also, solutions manuals are your friend. Not so much that you don't have to do the homework, but you have a guide right in front of you to explain what's going on.