So I got terminated.

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2011, 03:23 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So I got terminated.

I was pretty pissed but I kept my cool and just got my stuff and left. They offered me 1 months severance pay with some paperwork they gave me. Does this mean I'm eligible for unemployment? I'm a veteran and I'm already enrolled in 12 credit hours of college. My job was pretty good about letting me work around it but I don't want to drop my classes now. All this is sudden, not here for pitty just any advice would be good as it's been forever since I hadn't had a job.
Old 01-21-2011, 03:24 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What were you terminated for? You should be able to get unemployment $$
Old 01-21-2011, 03:36 PM
On The Tree

Honestly I worked for a privately owned tax firm. My boss couldn't tell me. All I know is my staff will miss me as I was considered the backbone. The company had it's own way of doing things so it's no surprise to me.
Old 01-21-2011, 03:38 PM
TDP
FormerVendor

Since you are receiving severance pay, then most likely you're eligible for unemployment
Old 01-21-2011, 03:39 PM
Launching!

Sorry Bro

This time of year you should be able to find another Job tho
Old 01-21-2011, 03:42 PM
TECH Regular

If you were terminated and the company records your unemployment as a termination your chances of getting unemployment are slim to none.

Ask your boss if your unemployment can be recorded as a Lay off.
If you left on good terms there is a chance he will give it to you, and in which case you should be eligible for unemployment.