*** Concrete patio, does this estimate sound about right? ***

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2005, 02:42 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default *** Concrete patio, does this estimate sound about right? ***

Guys,

Can you please let me know if this sound like a fair estimate or not? I am looking to do a concrete patio in the backyard. The size is 15 by 30, so that comes out to 450sqft. The estimate I got is $3000, approximately $6.60 per sqft.

Currently, that area has grass. The quote above includes all the prep work required before they can pour the concrete. They will use rebar steel instead of wire mesh. As for the thickness, it's about 5" or so. This is for a plain slab, no special finish or anything.

Does that sound about right? If you have any recommendation for certain companies in Houston, please let me know. I appreciate your help.

Thanks
-Tuan
Old 04-07-2005, 02:49 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Tuan, I'm a concrete contractor. If there is anyone here that can give you this answer it is me.

$6.50 sounds about right in your situation. Considering the $6.50 includes the prep work. A year ago that $6.50 was more like $5.00. With the current shortage of cement and the high price of steel, us contractors are forced to increase our prices accordingly. $6.50 sounds about right.

Rule of thumb is you should get at least 3 prices so you can make fair comparisons.

Good Luck!
Old 04-07-2005, 02:55 PM
TECH Regular

That does not sound too bad. My friend just did a 10x10 (6" thick) himself and it took 74 bags to complete. So you would need around 225 bags to do it yourself and at 2.50 a bag you are looking at almost 600 bucks in just concrete. Then you need wood for forms, rebar for reinforcement, rock to level the ground and all the prep work. Sounds like a lot of money but when you break it out it's not that bad. Plus you don't have to tear down the forms and clean up.
Old 04-07-2005, 03:49 PM
On The Tree