Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

What sandblaster and compressor size

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2010, 11:40 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What sandblaster and compressor size

I want to sand blast a sand rail i have that has about 3 coats of farm paint on it. Can this be done with a 80 gallon compressor? Im new to this im getting ready to buy a compressor and dont want to buy one thats too small. Also do you guys prefer a certain brand or type of sand blaster? Thank you
Old 01-28-2010, 06:38 AM
On The Tree

I've done a couple of these, and you are signing up for a very nasty job.

First, the size of the tank doesn't make any difference - you want CFM, preferably more than 10 CFM at 90 PSI. You are going to be in the 8-10 HP compressor range, at least.

You can buy some inexpensive sand blasters from Harbor Freight. Get the type where you pour the sand in a tank and the tank gets pressurized to force the sand into the nozzle. You'll fight a suction type sandblaster the whole time you are using it trying to get the sand to flow.

My experience is that it is much easier to rent a gas powered sandblaster if you are committed to doing it yourself. Lots of CFM and pressure and it gets the job done. The last one I did took me about 5-6 hours (been left outside to rust for a couple of years)

Here is a few alternate ideas if you're interested-

-paint or powder coat comes off a lot easier if it is burnt first. Use one of those torches that connects to a five gallon propane tank that they use for burning weeds and burn the paint first before you sandblast - it goes a lot quicker.

-almost all powder coat places have their own sand blasting facility or contract their sand blasting to somebody. Take it to a powder coater and have them do it.