Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Hand Laid carbon fiber...

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2013, 05:01 PM
TECH Resident

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Hand Laid carbon fiber...

Anybody on here do any before in a DIY manner?

Trying to do a few things on the side for fun at home and also to build my skills/understanding of current popular materials as an engineering student. Looking at getting into the Formula SAE team this next year and it might be nice to have this up my sleeve.

I've also looked at this for doing a custom mold of an intake plenum for my 3800 using an Aussie lower intake manifold and a flange, haven't really drawn anything out, just looking at options. This could help cut down on heat soak and maybe I could devise one that is sturdy enough to handle a forced induction application.
Old 02-07-2013, 01:53 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im an engineering student as well, I made a seat mold for my dragster. Was alot of fun and learned alot, I used a carbon kelvar fabric. A seat mold is really simple but it taught me alot, got the basics down.

I had a similar idea too. I want to make an air box that will bolt to ITBs, do air bells and all. I say go for it, learn as you go you know, if you've had your manufacturing class you prolly have a good idea about constructing a mold.
Old 02-07-2013, 03:18 PM
TECH Resident

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts

Haven't gotten to that, might be in it next semester.

I'm actually pretty excited to get finished with the plug n' chug math classes so I can get into the more enjoyable stuff that is challenging on a different level.
Old 02-12-2013, 08:04 AM
TECH Apprentice

Did it before "in a past life"; I've since sold all my equipment (kicking myself in the *** for this!).

It's not super hard, but the cost for a proper setup and the first few "failure" attempts is slightly painful.