Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

mig welding stainless steel

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2006, 03:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default mig welding stainless steel

I'm thinking of making some exhaust modifications on my corvette and it will require welding of the stainless steel exhaust.

I have a millermatic 175 that has the capability of welding SS, but I'm new to welding.

What do I need.

Obviously stainless steel wire. Will my CO2/Argon mix gas work for this or do I need something else?

Also, how is welding SS? Trickier or more forgiving than mild steel. Any tips would be appreciated.
Old 06-28-2006, 04:21 PM
8 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

That gas will work fine, however, to get a better quality weld that won't oxidize later you'll need pure Argon gas. I built a bunch of stuff on my exhaust out of SS several years ago and now it looks slightly rusty around the weld, not bad but not like the rest of the tubing. Now that I think about it though, the OEM stainless is 409 series which will rust slightly anyway. The wire you buy will be 304/309 series which is non-metallic and won't rust. Other than that, it welds basically just like any other steel.
Old 06-28-2006, 04:41 PM
TECH Addict

Yep I agree, welds up just like steel. No biggy.

Brandon
Old 06-28-2006, 05:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

cool, thanks guys
Old 06-29-2006, 05:30 PM
TECH Addict

May have to have you show me some tricks once you're a pro...
Old 06-29-2006, 08:15 PM
Staging Lane

Default New liner?

If you have run a lot of regular wire, you might think about installing a new liner (and use it only for stainless). Would not want to have any of the regular wire coating contaminate the weld. A new contact tip would be a good idea too. As for wire, I use 308 (with argon gas) in my Miller 250 - a one pound spool (4" diameter) works great.