Western Members CA, AZ, NV, UT, CO, NM, HI

How many of you guys are General Contractors?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2009, 10:54 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How many of you guys are General Contractors?

I'm a designer, and I was curious how many of you guys are general contractors. And if you are one, how is work for you? I've been sending out my info to contractors, and everyone seems pretty slow.

As a contractor, are you able to buy most of the toys that you want? I am trying to figure out whats the best mode of attack to get my business off the ground, but I want to eventually be able to make enough for a comfortable living. So im weighing out the options of working for an architect company, or possibly starting my own. So if you got some experience in the construction world, post up how its been treating you. The reason I'm asking you guys instead of architects, is cause you would be my basic clientel (sp).
Old 09-14-2009, 12:33 PM
TECH Addict

my parents are currently building a new house, and my mom is designing most of it. from what i understand things are slow, but materials and labor are very cheap right now. prices for everything are very, very competitive.
Old 09-14-2009, 12:49 PM
On The Tree

Well if your mom is designing things, then that will def. help save costs. The material and labor are extremly cheap right now which is why I wish things would pick up so that I could get more business. Its just hard out there period. But i know some contractors are still busy, I guess that depends on their location. Where are your parents building a house?
Old 09-14-2009, 12:58 PM
TECH Addict

it's over in a place called lake las vegas.

where are you starting up your business?
Old 09-14-2009, 01:13 PM
On The Tree