Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

ET Streets on the street

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2003, 09:34 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default ET Streets on the street

Im really thinking about this. Do they hook at all when the road is cold. 5 months out of the year i cant get any traction below 30mph with dr's. I dont drive in the rain or snow. I drive 40-50 miles a week. Every 2 weeks i hit the highway for a 40min drive and thats it. I just want all kinds of traction. Plus they look great on a 4th gen.I dont care about cornering im a straight line guy. Anyone run these as their regular tires??
Old 12-06-2003, 09:59 PM
On The Tree

Im no expert, but I would think both a drag radial and a racing slick would hook in the cold as long as you heated them up enough. The ET Street is definately going to hook better than a drag radial because of the softer compound, but again, it must be heated. I honestely think that drag radials hook less than a good street tire when not heated. Now both an ET Street and a drag radial are DOT approved which can be driven on the street, however, they dont really serve the purpose unless theyre heated. I think the drag radial is going to have better street manners if youre wanting something to drive on the street, yet stick good when heated. The drag radial is also going to last longer because it has a bit harder compound than the ET Street. If you have the money to be buying them often due to driving them on the street regularly, I say do it, but if not, stick with the drag radial. On the other hand, I know that Mickey Thompson just came out with a drag radial, which I know nothing about, but you might want to look into it because it may be just what youre looking for.

If youre looking at it in a different perspective, a drag radial will hook better on a hotter surface vs. one being cold. Hope that clears things up a bit. Thanks
Old 12-06-2003, 10:06 PM
TECH Apprentice