Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Vert Specific Monsoon question...

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2005 | 11:34 AM
Teching In

Default Vert Specific Monsoon question...

So, we all know of the short comings of the Monsoon stereo in our verts. At one time, I replaced all four of my factory speakers with (4) Infinity 6002i in the past, rewiring the speaker as needed, etc. I had the opportunity to hear a co-workers vert, with the stock system and i was surprised on how much fuller, deeper and more balanced the sound was versus my system. Mine sounded bright in comparison. Now I know about the 2 vs 4 ohm debate and since my degree is in electronics I sacrificed "distorted" power for cheaper and better overall speakers.

I understand that the head unit BY ITSELF expects a 4 ohm load which teh Monsoon amp gladly obliges, but I was wondering if anyone has expermented with by-passing the Monsoon amp altogether?

That is, looped the inputs to the speaker outputs at the amp connector providing a direct HU to speaker connection. I am not sure of the
power output of the HU but it would eliminate at least on high level of distortion and provide the correct impedence match to aftermarket speakers.

Has anyone done this before and am I missing something?

K.
Old 04-18-2005 | 02:47 PM
TECH Addict

I have heard of it being done, but people are usually putting in a new aftermrket head unit. There is even a cable you can buy to bypass the amp.
Old 04-18-2005 | 04:24 PM
Ungrounded Moderator
20 Year Member

It will work (although the prewired bypass harness is easier to work with) but you'll have to provide your own crossover since it was built-in on the Monsoon amp.
Old 04-18-2005 | 08:26 PM
TECH Apprentice

I have the 6002i speakers in my car (99 vert).

In the vert the doors speakers we know are as follows:

4 ohm Tweeter (High Freq from Monsoon AMP)
2 ohm midrange (Midrange Freq from Monsoon AMP)