Sponsored by:

Another newbie with some LS swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 12:27 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Another newbie with some LS swap questions

Hi everyone. I'm Jason, eastern Washington state....and I'm an LS newbie

This is what I'm working with: 1995 B4C Camaro, currently has a nicely built LT1 383 and a 4L60e trans....it's on it's way out....

These are my intentions: a 2003 LQ4, (probably) L92 heads, under .600" cam, putting a carb on its (yup, really)
Kinda just want off the shelf, somewhat mild parts for this build.
Also, a power glide....it already has a nice Moser 12 bolt in it

Now, I know I am kicking a dead horse here....but I'm really tired of reading random forums trying to obtain as much info as I can. I seem to have to piece together bits from here and there and try to use it in my world....so I figured I'd go straight to the source. There HAS to be someone that has done this exact swap before right?

So, what I have read....requirements are an LS k member to start with...by the lack of availability in stock k members in these parts, I will probably go with an aftermarket unit. And since I have to change that, the rack will need it too right? Since is is a drag race only car, I see there are k members available to use an old school manual rack (pinto style). Also, obviously, the correct trans cross member will be needed as well.

The help I guess I need, is confirming what I have already read. Is all of this accurate? Maybe I am just looking for someone who has done a similar build and can shoot me some pointers, I'm the type of guy that would rather work smarter not harder. This is my first hurdle...my second is the correct combination for the motor....I read these articles claiming 550hp with simple heads and cams....seems hard to swallow...but motivating at the same time. one step at a time tho :-)