Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY Vacuum Test Valve Body

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2018, 03:47 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 1,218 Likes on 782 Posts

Default DIY Vacuum Test Valve Body

I'm just a small time builder that does stuff on the side out of my shop. I work full time as an engineer and one thing I'm always chasing, both at work and at play, is cost savings. I've started to get more and more transmissions coming through my door and I don't want to see anything coming back. So, I started looking into the Sonnax Vacuum test kit for valvebodies. But WOW were they expensive for what I thought you really got.

I looked into them a little closer and determined I could make my own fairly cheaply. Less than $100 ready to rock as a matter of fact! Here's how to make your own at home if you are just a small time builder like me that wants some of the luxuries of the big time guys.

Things you'll need (everything is 1/8th NPT unless otherwise listed) :
2 Brass Tee's
2 Brass Needle valves (i got mine for like $8 a piece on amazon)
2 Brass straight Union-I got one long and one short but it doesn't matter
1 compression fitting (1/4 tube to 1/8th NPT)
1 vacuum gauge (0 to 30 inHg)
1 brass barb 1/8th hose

1 brass barb 10-32 thread, 1/8th barb (you don't need a tap or anything...just drill an 11/64 hole in the acrylic and the little barb will cut it's own threads no problem)

1 Brass end plug---drill a .035" hole (#65 drill bit) for calibration
2" x 3" clear plastic--I used 1/4" thick. Either pick up a square foot sheet from lowes or try to steal one of your wife's clear cutting boards and use a hacksaw/tablesaw to bring it down to size.

thin clear silicone mat. A placemat from any cooking supply store works great and is super cheap

Some copper tubing to connect the brass fittings to the pump

vacuum pump obviously. I picked mine up on amazon for 48 bucks. had decent reviews. has worked great so far...just eats a little more oil than a top dollar one