Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

3600 Vig going in and taking it to the tuner what do I ask him to change?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2007, 06:32 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 3600 Vig going in and taking it to the tuner what do I ask him to change?

Taking my 98 to the shop tommorow and having my 3600 vig put in along with my cooler and shift kit, new accumulator pistons, and filter/fluid.

Car has all bolt ons except electric water pump and 3.23s out back...

What should I have them adjust with HP tuners? Does the shift points or lockup points need to be adjusted. Last time I was at his shop he deleted TQ management and upped the line pressure for firmer shifts, what else should I suggest to him?

Goal for the car is to be as quick at the 1/8 mile track as possible and economical if at all possible...

Guide me 4L60 Gurus!!!
Old 12-28-2007, 12:34 PM
TECH Resident

I'm no expert for sure, but in my experience, getting rid of the TM (like you are) is a MUST; I might consider dropping the MPH shift points a few MPH (I had to drop mine so it wouldn't bang into the rev' limiter between shifts at the track; you already mentioned the line pressure and firmness; delete any slip codes (I had my guy do this, but still had problems, so I leave the car in "D" unless I am at constant freeway speeds I have my idle set to 750 (it would almost want to stall if I came to a stop really quick and it helps keep the voltage up when the lights and A/C are on at a stoplight.) That's all I can remember off the top of my head but I think that will get you pretty far.

Have fun with the new TC. You'll LOVE it!!!
Old 12-28-2007, 02:58 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Misfire tables, throttle follower or it will surge and die, and you need you shift extensions modified as well. You will have to drive it to get the shift extensions and throttle follower right.