Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

LS3 head conversion?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2013, 10:20 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS3 head conversion?

I'm in the beginning stages of piecing together the necessary parts to swap LS3/L92 heads onto my LS2. I'm hoping to have everything installed and tuned by spring.

Last night I was mulling things over and am starting to have doubts. I was going to call Martin over at Tick today to discuss and hopefully order a custom ground. In order to do this, I need to make up my mind

Here is my question. How tough is the conversion and is it worth it?

I am still fairly new to the LS world, but it seems to line me up closer to my goal of 450whp. I feel like I'm missing something as it "appears" to be about the same cost to buy/build some LS2 heads, and throw a cam in and call it a day. BUT for a few hundred more (probably more like $500) I can buy the L92 heads have them built and milled and make more power.
Old 11-18-2013, 02:25 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

its all direct bolt on...but you will need the ls3 heads and offset rockers,valvecovers etc. after that measure for pushrods with the new cam and send it to the tuner.
Old 11-18-2013, 06:50 PM
On The Tree

I guess another reason I'm apprehensive is that there doesn't appear to be many others doing this swap. Generally that's a good indication that it's not worthwhile.
Old 11-18-2013, 07:28 PM
TECH Resident

Actually its a very common swap for guys with ls2s
Old 11-18-2013, 07:53 PM
Launching!

That's why I looked hard for an ls2 car to be able to have this option in the future.

If you do it now then it will open your options for larger blowers setup for ls3 engines. You should do it!
Old 11-18-2013, 07:55 PM
TECH Addict

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Originally Posted by 90G60