Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A-body-LS Friendly Center Link

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2009, 09:30 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A-body-LS Friendly Center Link

I am no pro regarding steering geometry though I can't help but to think or hope that a custom center steering link can be made or manufactured to clear the wide variety of LS oil pans out there. Would the steering still function properly if the center most section was straight and not kicked up at the ends? I'm surprised that no "manufacturers" have stepped up to provide a solution for this nagging issue...or maybe they already have... Any Thoughts?
Old 09-03-2009, 04:48 PM
12 Second Club

X 2^^!
Old 09-03-2009, 06:29 PM
Launching!

Funny thing is, on some cars, the center link sits very low, almost on the "bash gaurd". Then compare the same year A body, and it sits way up high and smacks the ever living Sh*t out of the pan! I dont know if its just poor quality control on replacement idler arms / pitman arms, and the geometry is changing between manufacturers or what, but i cant figure out why some cars linkage sits low, and some sit high. Im lucky i guess, my el camino and my chevelle linkage hugs the crossmember nice and low. My friends 67 skylark we did a LQ9 swap on, and his linkage was a major problem. I did a 65 olds cutlass, and it was a bitch also for the same reason.

+3 on this one, somebody fab something god damn it! I'd do it, but you dont want my welds on your car
Old 09-03-2009, 08:48 PM
TECH Resident

How about this? http://www.4raceparts.com/wenteq/Che...centerlink.htm .I never knew they offered a billet one. You can often find cool stuff if you search through the circle track catalogs.
Old 09-03-2009, 11:50 PM
Launching!

that looks pretty bitchin! i think it is bigger in all the wrong spots though, they tie-rod connection points are pretty large.
Old 09-03-2009, 11:59 PM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts