Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Classic Auto Air warning

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2014, 02:17 PM
Staging Lane

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Classic Auto Air warning

After finishing my LS1/Chevelle swap, I wanted to put AC in. I did a lot of research and decided on the Classic Auto Air kit with the LS1 mount. The following is just a warning of my experience:

I purchased a complete Classic Auto Air kit for my 67 Malibu and have had nothing but problems with the install. So far, the HVAC controls interfere with the evaporator, the evaporator interferes with the defroster ducts and tubing, the firewall plate doesn't line up well at all, the condenser/drier unit doesn't mount right, one of the tubes doesn't fit, and they forgot another tube. I have drilled several holes in my firewall to get the evaporator to mount right and it just doesn't. I have followed the directions exactly. Currently I have a AC kit that doesn't fit and several ugly new holes in my firewall. I'm no pro mechanic, but I have done an LS1 swap, brakes, suspension, and everything else on the car myself.