Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1966 C-10 LM7 Swap

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2014, 06:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1966 C-10 LM7 Swap

I'm considering doing a 5.3 / 4L60 swap into a '66 C-10. I've done a ton of hot rods, restorations, fabrication etc so the mechanical part doesn't bother me but I'm new to the LS stuff and frankly am a little intimidated by the unknown. I've read/researched until my eyes are crossed. I know there are a ton of posts on this but a lot of them are a few years old and a lot of the information is scattered about. The donor vehicle I have found is a wrecked '01 Silverado 2WD with 104K miles. The truck I have and am considering the swap on is a '66 short wide bed, big back glass, factory V8, auto, PS, A/C truck. The original engine is long gone and the truck is solid but nothing nice at all. I just finished another project which is a show truck (383/700r4) and am just wanting this one to be a good reliable driver and am definitely wanting to build it on a budget. A few of the questions I have are:

1) What are the best motor mounts to use? I have the stock towers and would like to use them. I've seen ones that basically are just an adapter plate that use the stock style mounts, does anyone know about these?

2) Although this truck has the factory slave type power steering I will replace it with a later model power steering box. What lines work to use a 70s or 80s style box with the 5.3 pump?

3) Does the A/C compressor have to be relocated to the top of the engine for clearance purpose and if so what brackets can be used?

4) Is there any issues with using the drive by cable and the ECM from the donor truck? I'm not planning on using cruise control.