Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No power to engine harness fuse panel

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2016, 11:25 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default No power to engine harness fuse panel

I've never done a fuel injected engine swap before, so I need a little direction in my troubleshooting. I'm trying to provide as much info as possible for those that may offer feedback, excuse me if anything is overkill... I'm installing an LS2 in my 72 Cutlass. I rewired the body with AAW harness with a trunk mounted battery and remote Ford solenoid.

I'm using the Current Performance engine harness which is connected to the body harness via the pink ignition wire. I have constant power(12.5v) from the battery to the body fuse box. When the key is in the start position, I have 12.5v power at solenoid S terminal and the battery terminal to the starter. When I check the Current Performance fuse panel, I have key on power to the ignition relay only. The engine harness is grounded to the rear of the driver side cylinder head. Not sure if this matters, but I did not have and original bolt and i used a regular metric stainless one? If things were working properly, shouldn't my fuel pump kick on once the key is placed in the on/run position?

I am looking at trying to figure out what I possibly missed or where to check next. Any feedback offered is greatly appreciated.
Old 06-03-2016, 08:21 AM
Staging Lane

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

almost impossible to troubleshoot without seeing your wiring diagrams. But, if you have power to the ignition relay, then check to see if you have a ground to the other side of the relay coil. You should have 4 wires on that relay. 1 would be the 12v switched from your pink wire, a ground on the other side of the coil. then a larger always hot wire from battery to common relay contact and then a feed from the normally open relay contact to your new fuse box.
Old 06-03-2016, 08:40 AM
Restricted User

Received 107 Likes on 89 Posts