Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

87 Trans AM LS1 swap video

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 09:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 87 Trans AM LS1 swap video

Hey everyone. I know I just posted this in the multimedia section, but since most of you guys helped me during my swap, I wanted to post it in here so you'd see it. Let me know what you think! Its my first try at making a video...so I hope you like it!

http://www.vidilife.com/index.cfm?f=...50-4816-93D0-1

Justin
Old 01-04-2007, 11:51 PM
11 Second Club

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Looks damn good. Sounds great. I'm fiending to do a 3rd gen swap after I sold my 89 Formula 350. I'm keeping my eyes open for rollers right now. About how long did it take start to finish?
Old 01-05-2007, 07:14 AM
TECH Fanatic

Took me about 3 months roughly. And I was only working on it during weeknights. Didnt get any weekends to play with it. Also...I rebuilt the entire car almost. Stripped all the engine bay down, gutted wiring, custom dash, custom A/C system, rebuilt all the suspension, upgraded all the brakes... So I did a lot of extra stuff that some people might not have to do. Also I went from auto to m6...that ate up quite a bit of time.

Honestly, if you had everything essential to do the swap...it could be done in two weeks pretty easy. Especially if you kept it auto. M6 takes alittle work to get the pedals to work correctly etc etc. Just more tweaking. And if you didnt use A/C....oh man that would simplify things sooo much. Basically just bolt the motor in at that point.

I saw a very sweet 88 Formula on my way home yesterday. Looked super clean and straight. It was the light blue color. Even the salad shooter wheels looked good. They had 4400 on the windshield. That'd be a hot little swap/sleeper...

Justin
Old 01-05-2007, 09:08 AM
Restricted User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Looks BAD ***, what brakes did you use on the front ?
Dale
Old 01-05-2007, 09:53 AM
TECH Fanatic