Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

disappointment strikes at track today..advice?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2010, 08:45 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default disappointment strikes at track today..advice?

01 m6 full weight trans am. mods in sig. went to try out brand new toyo dr's (315/35/18) and lnc-002. it was about 95* today

dropped tire pressure down to about 20 and lauched from 2200, spun slight bit then bogged..2.0xx sixty

moved lauch rpm to 3000 and spun right when i let the clutch out then hooked, seemed to still bog just not as bad, then left with a 1.900 sixty and 12.8xx 1/4 time.

the rest of the day consisted of more spinning even after letting tires down to 18 psi and moving launch rpm to 2800.

i'll add that i do not have a rear sway bar. and also in janurary i raced the car on 235 dr's and spinning from launch as well as shifting to 2nd and 3rd i was running 12.5's with more to go. what do i need to address or work on? i'm no professional but i need some other thoughts

thanks
Old 05-16-2010, 09:08 PM
11 Second Club

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts

I am not really familiar with those tires, and how well they actually work so can't really help you out on that one. I know my friend will launch his car between 3800 and 4200 with Mickey Thompson drag radials.

If your serious about drag racing the car, i would just get a slick because you have the rear-end for it!
Old 05-16-2010, 11:03 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You need more sidewall on your tires to take the shock of the standard tranny, Maybe get you a set of 15" rims for the track.
Old 05-16-2010, 11:22 PM
TS6
10 Second Club

You need a rear sway bar for starters.
Old 05-16-2010, 11:46 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

1) Get a rear sway bar
2) Remove your front sway bar so the weight can transfer correctly
3) Pick up a pair of 15 or 16" prostars and Bias Ply ET streets because you need more sidewall