Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Beginning Street/Strip car build....need advice.

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2010, 02:57 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 212 Likes on 174 Posts

Default Beginning Street/Strip car build....need advice.

Now I dont expect everyone to go sharing their secrets, but im a complete newbie to the rwd world. I have the car listed in my sig below. Before the tune (read with torque management enabled) I was cutting consistent 2.0XX 60's on 275/40/17 firestone firehawk wide ovals at the local track (which isnt known for great prep). On the same tires, same track, etc.... with a tune (read as torque management disabled) i cant better a 2.15X. Ive tried tire pressure changes, launching methods, diff lanes, diff days......no result. I suspect its time to invest in some suspension before going power crazy. Whats my first step? The car is completely stock suspension wise as it came from the factory.......106k miles later.
Old 09-28-2010, 03:28 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

torque arm, lca's, shocks. I cut 1.7's with my 275 tires. and thats giving it half effort. anymore and i spin.

then start getting some bolt-ons. intake and exhaust.

then start looking into a stall/transmission.
Old 09-28-2010, 04:37 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Theres drivetrain plans in the future, built trans and stall to come first. Right now Ijust want to be able to put any future power to the ground.
Old 09-29-2010, 07:51 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by AnnivSS
Theres drivetrain plans in the future, built trans and stall to come first. Right now Ijust want to be able to put any future power to the ground.