Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Radiator question

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009, 08:21 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Radiator question

Alright, I'm a total newb to boosted applications & I'm a little confused on this. I have been doin searches & lots of reading in this section for about a week now only to not find a solid anwser on this subject.

I have seen people running stock, Be Cool, Ron Davis, ect.... Now what exactly determines needing a different radiator besides waiting to see if your gonna overheat?

I have seen several different combos in my searches from mild to pretty damn stout running the stock radiator without issues. But then I see others say for example with a less potent combo making less boost & HP but they are overheating on the stocker & need to upgrade.

I have also seen where some had trouble fitting a Be Cool in with a Procharger & the inlet hat. And it only fit with modification to the radiator support. I get the feeling this is just one of those trial & error deals but I just wanted to see if there are certain determining factors I'm overlooking.

Also how much really does the intercooler of your choice effect this? Say running a good FMIC vs the 2 smaller supplied Procharger intercoolers that come with a standard D1SC kit? I'm very open on this & would like some experienced advice from other boosted members who possibly have already had to deal with this. And is there any extra additive any of you add to the cooling system to help keep temps in check, like that Redline water wetter stuff? If so are you still running Dexcool or the old fashion Green antifreeze?

I'm Tryin to plan out a future build for a 347 with a D1SC & plan on running about 10-12# boost. It get fairly hot around here in the summer & this car will be a daily driver seeing about 300+miles a week. So keeping my temps in check will be a priority.

Thankx in advance to any who can shed some light on this.