Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

383 LT1 Turbo Build Advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2012, 08:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 383 LT1 Turbo Build Advice

Okay, so I am in the process of building my LT1 into a 383 turbo (more than likely single, but not positive at this point). I just sent in my intake to get ported and will be getting new 23 degree ported and polished TFS heads. Also purchased a rotating assembly through Summit yesterday (ESP-B12106030L19). I should be running right around 8.75 to 1 CR. I'm sure I will have plenty of questions along the way, as this is my first build, let alone serious turbo build. Right now I'm wondering what would be the best oil pump setup. High volume seems to make the most sense, but is it necessary? High pressure as well? If I go high volume, I know to get a new oil pan. Please, only post if you have experience with turbo builds.
Thanks!
Old 09-29-2012, 10:14 PM
TECH Veteran

I have a complete lt1 turbo kit with the oil pan and pump you will need. My383 made just under 690 hp on 14psi. If you want the kit I have it, just pm me for pix and pricing if you want it.
Old 09-29-2012, 11:38 PM
TECH Apprentice

fellow 383 turbo lt1 here.

im using a standard type melling oil pump. no issues.

generally if you run a high volume pump, a larger capacity pan is a good idea.... which with a turbo, you might run into clearance issues.
Old 09-30-2012, 11:21 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by forgedlt4
fellow 383 turbo lt1 here.

im using a standard type melling oil pump. no issues.

generally if you run a high volume pump, a larger capacity pan is a good idea.... which with a turbo, you might run into clearance issues.
Okay, good to hear! I may go that route and see if it will suffice. Just wanted to know if that was enough oil flow for a turbo setup.
Old 11-27-2012, 10:49 AM
Teching In