Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

STS kit vs Custom Rear Mount?

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2013, 06:20 PM
Launching!

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

Default STS kit vs Custom Rear Mount?

So I am new to the whole FI world and I'm a total noob when it comes to it. First off I understand front mount is more efficient ect ect...but I like my ac sway bar and keeping the ugly alternator down below. Plus I like the bolt on factor.

My question is, would it be cheaper and better to buy a used sts kit or to buy used parts (turbo, wg, fmic,...) and have a shop custom build the plumbing?

I'm not looking for anything crazy, just a 450-500rwh weekend warrior. For those of you who have a sts kit or custom rear mount, would it be possible to do an entire build with tune for around $2000-2500?

Car is a bolt on A4. I was originally thinking of going the HCI route but have been toying with the idea of a turbo for a while.

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-05-2013, 07:14 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

2-2500 and work right? No. Unless you aren't documenting "payment" from sexual favors.
Old 08-05-2013, 09:22 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

"maybe" depends on what you can find and piece together, do some research and see. It won't be perfect, but you could probably get close. If you have 2500 though, why not buy one of the kits being sold on here that are front mounts?
Old 08-13-2013, 10:44 PM
TECH Addict

Received 95 Likes on 81 Posts

$2500? NO....
I did a complete (and still perfecting) a complete custom rear mount turbo and im still at about $5000+ although this is with EVERYTHING, its still no where the low cost you're mentioning. You "might" be able to if you find someone trying to get rid of a sts basic kit and arnt looking to get back their money.
If your not in a hurry, if you can get the pipe work, get that, and then upgrade all the sts supplied hard parts like the turbo, oil pump, intercooler