Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Boost starting at high RPM

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2008, 08:31 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Boost starting at high RPM

Im new with this whole FI world so bear with me please.
The motor is a ls1, it has a 76mm Turbo, hks bov, tial 44. It only has a mail order tune with a turbo base tune for now till i get it driveable. My tack is not hooked up yet but when its idleing it has around 20 vac when i give it gas it dosent go into boost until just right before the rev limiter. I know by not having the tach working i cant get a good reading of what rpm im at but basically i dont see boost till about 1k short of rev limiter. This is a DIY turbo kit so it may be an error that ive caused. Also i have my bov on a vac T thats connected to the line that goes from the side of the WG to the compressor housing and considering its a HKS it should be loud and it dosent make any sound but this is because the Bov should work when the motor comes from boost back to vac right? Does anyone know what my problems could be? THanks!
Old 03-07-2008, 08:46 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 537 Likes on 381 Posts
LS1Tech 20 Year Member

Your late boost could be exhaust leaks, incorrect wastegate reference, oversize turbine housing A/R, etc. However, the BOV reference definitely needs to come from the intake manifold in order to work properly.
Old 03-07-2008, 08:49 PM
On The Tree

Yea i figured i would start by checking for leaks, thats what im going to do in the morning. I think the WG is refrenced correctly strait from the turbo. The turbine housing is .81. I had the bov hooked up to a T in in the brake booster line and it did the same thing.
Old 03-08-2008, 10:39 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 69 Likes on 61 Posts

If UR revving it in neutral, U will likely not produce boost.. Try loading against the brakes..That will produce high EGT, and ex gas pressure.
Old 03-08-2008, 11:18 AM
TECH Apprentice