General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

$6,000 Budget Build - Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2018, 01:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default $6,000 Budget Build - Need Advice

Hey guys! So, I have a 1970 C10 with a 350 SBC. Cam, High rise IM, 600cfm carb, and some aftermarket headers. Not happy with the setup, she just doesn't get up and go like I would like her too(bad tune maybe?). I am new to V8's, been an import guy for a long time so my knowledge of these motors are very very limited. She is also matted to a Muncie 4 spd manual trans, with VERY long gearing which I think is killing it a bit as well. My local shop is willing to handle an LS swap for $2,500, all I need to do is bring the drivetrain. Or $5,000 end to end including the motor and auto trans(LM7).

Here are my options that I am throwing around:

1. Build the 350 with the $6,000
2. Swap in the LM7 shop suggested and have some money left over.
3. Acquire an LQ9(or the like) and mildly build as best I could with the 6k total in mind.

What do you guys think? I want to stay NA on this build. I would LOVE to have EFI, but if it doesn't make sense cost wise, I can deal with the carb or go FItech maybe?

Thanks!
Old 06-08-2018, 01:54 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

TBH, since it's probably just a weekend toy/cruiser, I'd probably just put a lower rear gear in it and reassess. It could change your perspective enough to keep you happy for now.

I'm pretty set on FI for all of its conveniences and efficiencies, but you also have to consider that you've got a running, driving vehicle and a solution to its pep could be more simply solved.
Old 06-08-2018, 02:02 PM
TECH Resident

Received 53 Likes on 45 Posts