General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Car won't start and dies going down the road - enjoy

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2012, 09:59 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car won't start and dies going down the road - enjoy

Background...New LS-6 motor in 99 Z28 Car.. 1000 miles.. No cats, Showroom car. Has been running like a champ, since I bought it. Recent work...removed plastic parts and painted (hood, bumpers, skirts), only wiring change was replacing the light sockets in the front (sides). Got a new key fob a month ago and programmed it with the car (unplug radio fuse, turn key on/off three times...most know the drill)

Got in the car the other day...Turned the key on, everything lite up like normal and the motor turned over and over and over...but no start... battery and starter operating perfectly. Turned the key off. tried again... repeated this 6 or 7 times... I'm an old school car builder, so if I was in a 69 Camaro, I would go check my points for being stuck or water condensation or check to see if someone had played a joke on me and pulled my coil wire...

Thinking through the main items... fuel, electrical.....I could hear the fuel pump turn on with the key for ~3 seconds then stop.. normal(got pressure, I think)

looked at key to see any abnormal wear on security pin.. locked the car with the key fob, set alarm (no light on dash blinking, didn't before either, but the horn blows like it's set)... unlocked everything with fob...then tried to start again... nothing... motor just turns over like a champ... 15 seconds later on the 4th try, it fires up and runs as smooth as a champ. Drive the car around the block and put her back in the garage...afraid to get stuck on the way to work..not good