General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

LS1 problem starting up and runs very poorly..

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2012, 01:50 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation LS1 problem starting up and runs very poorly..

Newbie here to LS1Tech, glad to be apart of the community.

LS1 went down south on me 2 days ago driving down the highway and now the car drives and sounds like a go-kart. Motor is out of a 99 Camaro SS. Everytime I try to fire it up it takes a few cranks to get it started, once it starts I wanna say it idles at around 100 or less and I have to keep the RPMs up or else it will die! Right now it has very rough idle, wants to stall when it's under load, backfires like crazy, and it has lack of power when you try to accelerate.

Checked all the fluids and they are still good, noticed my Oil Catch was broke though.. went on to run a OBDII and it threw out some eye brow raising codes..

P0108 Manifold MAP Sensor High Voltage
P0134 02 Sensor Activity
P0342 Camshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Low Input (Bank 1 or Single Sensor)
P0412 Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve A Circuit
P0418 Secondary Air Injection System Relay A Control Circuit

I went ahead and tried to run a compression test and all I got was 1 cylinder giving me a reading and that was 120. All the other cylinders weren't giving me any reading what so ever! I took off the covers and there was no damage inside..

Can't figure out what it could be, any help would be much appreciated, thanks!
Old 06-01-2012, 04:20 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

Are you blowing an smoke out of the exhaust, and if so, what color is it?
Old 06-01-2012, 05:03 PM
Teching In

It's blowing out smoke but not out the exhaust, it's coming from the intake and it's black.
Old 06-01-2012, 05:19 PM
TECH Addict

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Sounds like your map sensor is bad and causing a vacuum leak.