Sponsored by:

Random troubleshooting question

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday, 05:18 PM
Launching!

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Random troubleshooting question

Folks,
I have a cammed LQ9 w/243 heads stuffed in my 02 WS6... chasing down a miss on the driver's side.
At first I was convinced I was screwing up the tuning since I'm new to tuning, but now I'm sure there's something electrical or mechanical.

I've pulled all the plugs and regapped them. I've tested each coil and wire with a spark plug tester from Harbor Freight.
Question: Do coils fail hard, or do they degrade and if they degrade, is there a way to tell?

If I have a faulty/stuck injector, wouldn't there be a code for that? If not, how can i test them?

I'm 99% sure the valvetrain is good; no metal on metal sounds or anything like that, but it's clearly a miss on the driver's side.
I was looking for a different issue a while back and had the cover off bumping the starter, so i know the valvetrain looks decent and the rockers are doing what they're supposed to.
Pulling a wire at the coil pack just makes it arc back to the coil and doesn't change the idle somehow.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks
Jim

Old Yesterday, 05:45 PM
TECH Regular

Received 162 Likes on 118 Posts

You can disable injectors, one at a time and see if the idle speed drops evenly, per cylinder to isolate the miss.
There are defective NEW IN BOX Spark plugs on occasion.
Lot of counterfeit knock-offs in the supply chain.
Once you isolate cylinderr mis-fire, replace spark plug with a GOOD one, ie a spark plug that DOES fire other cylinders.
Swap coil(s) similar.
Look for ignition coil wires chafed/ rubbed through and contacting coil mount bracket, heard of that causing trouble.
Old Yesterday, 05:50 PM
Launching!