Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What will I need to do to break 7k?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2008, 12:53 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What will I need to do to break 7k?

Hey everybody. Im getting ready to pick up a 4th Gen of my very own soon. And im looking at building a new engine to stick in which will cube out at 333ci. So as far as header size, and intake capability im not detered. However, I am a complete LSx noob. I have zero idea as to the requirements needed to assure reliable operation in the LSx past 7k (7800 goal). What kind of gear will I need to be using in the valvetrain? Or is a high winded LSx out of the question?

Any input is greatly appreciated.
Old 11-10-2008, 01:07 PM
JPH
TECH Junkie

Originally Posted by USMC Schroeder
Hey everybody. Im getting ready to pick up a 4th Gen of my very own soon. And im looking at building a new engine to stick in which will cube out at 333ci. So as far as header size, and intake capability im not detered. However, I am a complete LSx noob. I have zero idea as to the requirements needed to assure reliable operation in the LSx past 7k (7800 goal). What kind of gear will I need to be using in the valvetrain? Or is a high winded LSx out of the question?

Any input is greatly appreciated.
Lightweight valvetrain, shaft mount rocker arms, killer valve springs, and a sheetmetal intake should do the trick for you.
Old 11-10-2008, 02:07 PM
Banned

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

You need to think about oiling at those rpms (7800)
Whats the car going to be use for?
Old 11-12-2008, 01:20 PM
Teching In

Mostly street, some strip and track. As far as oiling goes, does the 10/1000 rule still work on the LSx series engines?
Old 11-12-2008, 02:02 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Mostly street, some strip and track. As far as oiling goes, does the 10/1000 rule still work on the LSx series engines?