Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help - Bent intake valves

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2009, 07:28 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help - Bent intake valves

The story is a bought this LS6 from a friend of a friend. It was a runner and had been pulled from his car for another project that her did not get around to. Seemed like a good fit for my application

I picked it up missing some covers and the rockers sensors and other Misc stuff.
Specs are Ls6 block 243 head with some work. Cam is a Flowtec 228/232 .600/.600 111 LSA. has trick flow 7.40 pushrods and it came with a BBK intake

I put everything back together using some "stock rockers" that I bought which at this point was a big mistake because the first time I fired it I bent almost all the intake valves. Im new to this so it is a big *** learning mistake but to late to do anything about it. I can only conclude that the rockers are the wrong ratio fro this application and the intake valves opend to far and kissed the pistons

Here is my question given the info I have how can I figure out what rockers I should have?

The timing has been checked and given that that cam has a 4 degree advance I had it set to negative 2 on the crank so looking at 2 degree advance which should not have caused a issue.

Please help im not sure where to go from here

cam is 228/232 .600/.600 111 LSA
push rods 7.40
Old 09-01-2009, 07:41 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The wrong rocker ratio would not do this. I bet the timing set is not installed right somehow. Your valve events are way off if you bent valves when you crank the motor. Did you leave it at idle and it bent the valves? Are you 100% sure the valves were not destroyed when you bought the motor?
Old 09-01-2009, 07:55 AM
Staging Lane