Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing My Head Gasket: A Noob Love Story (Please Help!)

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 08:19 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Question Replacing My Head Gasket: A Noob Love Story (Please Help!)

Hey guys...

So, after changing the oil one day in my 2001 SS, I decide to make sure my radiator's topped off, and then I find that it looks like peanut butter...but with the consistency of house paint. I figure...that's not right (did I mention I'm a noob?). I hear that it could be burnt coolant, and since I hadn't ever changed it, I figured it could be that. I took it to CarX to get get it flushed, and then they tell me that it's oil in the coolant--head gasket probably cracked and that it would take thousands of dollars for them to fix. Oh, by the way, the car drives fine, no noticeable engine problems at least. I drive home, call some friends who're big car buffs and they say that you could get a head gasket for $100.

Being that my car's probably worth nothing to sell anyway, and that I've always wanted to work on a car, and that the worst I can possibly do is further break an engine in an already monetarily worthless car, and I'd gain experience regardless, and if I do in fact fix it, I'd have my beloved car for much longer, and that I'd be ready to start doing upgrades....I figured it was a win win situation.

SO...that's where I'm at today. I bought $100 worth of tools that I never had, including a compression gauge. I read up on some stuff, and I want to do a compression test.

PREFACE: The Compression Test