Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

cam for high elevation

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2014, 12:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cam for high elevation

Hey newbie here but was wondering what's a good cam for a dd high elevation (5312ft) to be exact ?
Old 07-30-2014, 03:13 AM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

A boost cam with some boost.

Other than that, what do you want from your engine? It is just like selecting a cam at low elevation, it'll just make less power. You could get away with more aggressive valve events that raise your DCR, but you'll have to be able to get at least 93 Octane (not likely), and never drive in low elevation or DA's or have a dead nuts tune for knock retard....
Old 07-30-2014, 04:48 AM

Thanks for the info I'm just trying to get a good street cam that's not to aggressive and makes good power its my daily driver and I'm thinking about spraying for when I play around on the weekends
Old 07-30-2014, 06:46 AM
TECH Addict

What is good power? What mods do you already have? What engine and vehicle is it in? Manual or auto? Rear gear ratio? Tire size?

My opinion and your opinion of what good power is differs. Are you looking for a high revver? Or something with great low end torque? Maybe something in between? Goals for RWHP, 350-400 or 400-450? Maybe more?

You should make a sig that has all your vehicle information, this way when you ask a question like this one we all have most the info we need already.
Old 07-30-2014, 09:01 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

Like mentioned above, more detailed information would be helpful
Old 07-30-2014, 12:41 PM

i was thinking good power would be 400-450 hp i want the Cam to be in between low end and a high revver its a 02 ws6 ls1 with Lt headers a catted y-pipe and a borla adjustable exhaust and a slp lid its a manual with the stock 3.42 gear ratio the tire size are 275/40-17 and front and back
Old 07-30-2014, 02:30 PM