Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Home porting

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2017, 06:25 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Home porting

picked up a set of 241's locally for 100 bucks... figured id give it a shot and do some hand porting and if worse comes to worse and I did a **** job, i'll have um cnc ported, or make a table out of them if the damage is irreversible
so did some reading about the basics for ls1 head porting...

what I have learned:
1. dont touch the short turn radii
2. blend the bowl
3. grind down the swirl ramp
4. grind down the rocker bolt base
5. grind the valve guide boss
6. dont cut down the coolant hump in the exhaust port
7. leave intake ports rough cut, but polish exhaust ports
8. basically copy the port jobs done by the professional heads because I am an amateur

before you gasp at the ugliness, let me forewarn you:
-this is the very first rough cut, I can cut more if you guys out there think I should, or I can begin sanding and smoothing
-I am waiting on a few new, different shaped tungsten bits so I can finish cutting down the swirl ramps
-also waiting on a replacement piece for my rotary tool so i can get back into the meat of the intake port and grind out the rest of the rocker bolt hole
-the sharpie lines i made on the intake ports are just references for straightness, NOT the width that I am going to cut the runners out to

questions I have that I could not find on my own:
-is it worth it to mess with the combustion chamber and try and polish it out; what type of gains are seen by a well-polished combustion chamber?
--take into consideration: I have a stupidly large cam, and don't want to have to cut a bunch off the deck when I have them planed, and don't want to lose a lot of compression in the chamber....