Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

** PICS INCLUDED**took my oil pan/windage off 5.3 and seen this

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2017, 07:48 PM
TECH Regular

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Default ** PICS INCLUDED**took my oil pan/windage off 5.3 and seen this

I bought this 5.3 two months ago, but just got around to checking bottom end. This is what I seen...

Is this normal???

There also was a small amount of water in oil pan as you can see..

What do you guys think?
Old 10-14-2017, 07:50 PM
TECH Regular

Last edited by 86CAMARO400HP; 10-14-2017 at 07:58 PM.
Old 10-14-2017, 07:59 PM
ModSquad

Received 3,370 Likes on 2,086 Posts

Yikes! This thing been in a fire? That’s a good example of why it’s important to change your oil...regularly.
Old 10-14-2017, 08:01 PM
TECH Regular

Lol ! I'm no mechanic, but I did not think the bottom end was suppose to look like this.. Would just not changing oil cause this?
Old 10-14-2017, 09:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts

yeah thats not good.... looks like it needs an overhaul.... or a good scrubbing
Old 10-14-2017, 11:23 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by Majestic9C1
yeah thats not good.... looks like it needs an overhaul.... or a good scrubbing
I was going to swap it in my iroc but I dont know about it now...

I have a 4.8 too, I will take the oil pan/tray off tomorrow and post pics of that one..
Old 10-14-2017, 11:30 PM
TECH Addict

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts

Oil wasn't changed regularly, might be ok but if it were mine I'd look at everything.
Old 10-15-2017, 12:54 PM
TECH Regular

Here's what I saw when I took the pan/tray off the 4.8

Old 10-15-2017, 08:39 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts