Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ4 Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 12:15 AM
Teching In

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default LQ4 Help

I’ve been slowly working on a LQ4 build to go in a 1967 Skylark. Two jobs and two kids is making for very slow progress. I’ve bought a M295 oil pump, cloyt timing chain, BTR stage 2 Truck Cam with BTR Valve Springs and a Holley Swap oilpan. I was going to leave the 317 heads on and not break head gasket. However when I went to install the valve springs I found out the rings were not sealing. I have since pulled the heads and once I manage to get the crank pulley off will finish breaking the block all the way down.

This is my first project car ever and I feel like it is getting beyond my knowledge base. I plan on getting the block cleaned, checked and possibly a new home/bore. I’m this far so it seems silly to not get new bearings installed while I’m here. The issue I’m having is what to do with the pistons/connecting rods. The simplest and cheapest route appears to be to put LQ9 factory parts in and move on with life. However I’m reading that factory pistons are “weak” and cause catastrophic failure if they let go. I’m also hunting for a pair of 799 heads to replace the 317’s. Although I have seen a few spots where the 706 heads are cheaper and work well on 6.0 engines. I’m not sure if the cam I have will cause issues with the lq9 pistons and upgraded heads? Should I just keep the 317’s, do the lq9 pistons, and call it good? I’ve tried researching things but sometimes my lack of knowledge makes understanding what I’m reading difficult.