Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3L build for truck

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2020, 09:54 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 5.3L build for truck

Howdy y'all! I'm pretty new to the LS world for building engines since my other trucks have been Fords. I have a 2003 Silverado extended cab short bed 2wd with 230k on the clock. The previous owner lifted it six inches (I know, why lift a 2wd) and it has 35s. He claimed the 4l60e had been "built" but I don't know how true or to what extent. It is my daily driver and I tow my 20ft ski boat and 20ft flatbed occasionally. After taking said boat to the lake a couple times last year after I got this truck I'm not very happy with the lack of power. It might be because my previous truck was a Ford excursion with the v10, who knows. I am building a new 5.3 lm7 to swap out with the current one. I'm not looking to have a speed demon or anything, just something that is overall better than stock. Here's my idea so far...

Gen 3 5.3 iron block (cleaned and honed with new cam bearings)
Two sets of 706/862 heads (one to go on in stock form and one for me to get started on learning to do head work).
Gen 4 5.3 pistons and rods (should bump compression ratio to 10.5ish)
Gen 3 crank (yes the rotating assembly will be balanced due to heavier rods and pistons)
4l60e with stock converter

I need ​​​some help with cam choice. I've been searching through the all knowing Google and have seen so many different answers, on this forum and others, that my mind is going numb. I would like to get as much as I can but still maintain streetability. At this point putting a converter in it isn't in the budget and I'd like to run on pump gas. I saw this cam motion cam in a thread and after reading through it, it seems like it's what I'm looking for. I don't have a problem changing springs so would the high lift version be better vs low lift?

https://cammotion.com/camshafts/5-3-stage-2-ls-truck-camshaft-206-210-115-5/